St Dennis Parish Council Minutes of the Annual Meeting held at the Clay Tawc Centre on Tuesday 18th May 2021 at 7.00pm

Present: Cllr Mrs Julia Clarke, Cllr Mr N Edmunds, Cllr Mrs T Edmunds, Cllr Harwood, Cllr Sinnott, Cllr Jones, Cllr Taylor, Cllr Lodomez, Cllr Burnett, Cllr S Kelsey.

In Attendance: Lynn Clarke Clerk, Cornwall Councillor Mr Dick Cole.

Cllr Clarke welcomed all to the Annual Meeting of the Parish Council and thanked those present for attending.

1/21 Election of Chair

Cllr Julia Clarke was nominated for Chairman. Proposed by Cllr Mr N Edmunds, seconded by Cllr Sinnott, all in favour. There being no further nominations. It was **Resolved** that Cllr Clarke be elected to Chairman for the year 2021–22.

2/21 Election for Vice Chair

Cllr Mr N Edmunds was nominated for Vice Chairman. Proposed by Cllr Clarke seconded by Cllr Jones, all in favour. There being no further nominations. It was **Resolved** that Cllr Mr N Edmunds be elected as Vice Chairman for the year 2021-22.

3/21 Welcome of all new Councillors

Cllr Clarke welcomed all those present back to the Council and Welcomed Cllr Cole as the new Cornwall Cllr for St Dennis and St Enoder Parish, congratulating him on winning the election.

4/21 Apologies

None

5/21 Declarations of Interest

Whilst there were no items on the agenda where an interest was declared, Cllr Cole declared an interest in any future agenda items relating to ClayTAWC.

6/21 Public Participation

Cllr Clarke introduced Cornwall Cllr Cole and welcomed him to the meeting. Cllr Cole thanked the Chairman and informed those present that he aims to attend Parish Council meetings as often as possible and is looking forward to working with St Dennis Parish Council in the future.

7/21 Election of Committee

It was **Resolved** to decide the Committees via email. Proposed by Cllr Mrs T Edmunds seconded by Cllr Jones. Cllr Clarke amended this proposal to exclude the representatives of the Community Trust, seconded by Cllr Mrs T Edmunds all in favour.

St Dennis & Nanpean Community Trust Representatives:

Cllr Clarke informed that Cllr Cole would be taking up the Cornwall Council seat on the Trust, Cllr Clarke has been holding this seat on behalf of Cllr Greenslade, who stepped down at the recent election. Cllr Clarke wishes to remain on the Community Trust as a Parish Council Trustee and put herself forward for the seat vacated by Cllr Howard. Cllr Clarke also advised that a Cllr with a financial background is currently required by SDNCT and nominated Cllr Burnett to sit as a Councillor Trustee on St Dennis and Nanpean Community Trust. Cllr Burnett advised a check for any conflict of interest within her employment would be required prior to acceptance of this position.

All other committees and representatives to be decided via email.

8/21 Pledges and objectives for the new council during the term of office.

It was **Resolved** to decide Pledges and Objectives for the term in office via email. Proposed by Cllr Clarke seconded by Cllr Jones all in favour.

9/21 To review and approve St Dennis Parish Council's Scheme of Delegation

It was **Resolved** to approve the Scheme of Delegation and in so doing the Council delegates authority to the Clerk in consultation with the Chairman, Vice Chairman and / or Councillors / Committees to take any actions necessary with associated expenditure to protect the interests of the community and ensure council business continuity, informed by consultation with the members of the council. The scheme of delegation will be reviewed no later than August 2021. Proposed by Cllr Mrs T Edmunds seconded by Cllr Taylor all in favour.

10/21 To agree dates in advance for Committee Meetings.

It was **Resolved** to agree the dates via email. Proposed by Cllr Clarke seconded by Cllr Jones, all in favour.

Standing order 3e

That in view of the confidential nature of the business about to be transacted, it is advisable in the public interest that the press and public be temporarily excluded, and they are requested to withdraw.

There being no other business to be transacted the Chairman closed the meeting at 7.20pm.
Signed:
Chairman of St Dennis Parish Council